Lenora M. Beckett
79, of Cowen

Richard “Rick” Homer Boggs, Jr.

Maxine L. Bowyer
99, of Richwood

Teachie Louise Campbell
90, of Keslers Cross Lanes

Jamie Kay Cavendish
79, of Buckhorn

Ellen Kay Eagle
76, of Summersville

Carolyn Gayle Tinney Foster
75, Richwood

Spurgeon Douglas "Doug" Hinkle III
59 of Craigsville

Tammy Lynn Holmes
52, of Summersville

Dena Rosanna Jewell
57, of Webster Springs

Justin Paul McKenzie
37 of Upper Glade

James Arlen O’Dell

Janice Faye Skaggs
82, of Goose Creek, S.C.

Michael Edward Stull
60, of Mount Nebo

Sherry Lynn Tinney
59, of Summersville

Paul “Bub” Bernard Thompson, Jr.
72, of Craigsville

Mary Ann Williams
86, Craigsville

Vasil Addle Williams
88 of Craigsville



Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Facebook Twitter

west virginia tourism home page summersville freedom rally home page




Man dies in Mount Nebo wreck

A Nicholas County man died in a two-vehicle accident, which occurred on old Route 19 in Mount Nebo on Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2020, at 9:38 a.m.

According to the Nicholas County Sheriff's Department, Clarence Foster Cable Jr., 75, of Mount Nebo, was traveling north on old Route 19 on a 2007 Yamaha 1300. The wreck happened when a Ford Ranger driven by Danny Rader, of Mount Nebo, pulled out of Kitty Hawk Lane to travel south on old Route 19 and collided nearly head-on with the Cable motorcycle.

Cable was transported to WVU Medicine Summersville Regional Medical Center where he was pronounced deceased.

The accident is under investigation by Cpl. J.D. Ellison.




Jury: Backus not guilty of sexual assault, kidnapping

A Nicholas County jury, after deliberating for less than 30 minutes, returned a not guilty verdict in a criminal trial on Friday, Oct. 16, 2020.

Bradley Eric Backus, 40, of Mount Nebo, was acquitted of two counts of second-degree sexual assault and one count of kidnapping.

The trial began on Wednesday afternoon, Oct. 14, with opening arguments, followed by the prosecution presenting its case.

The jury of 10 men and two women heard testimony from Sgt. B.J. Holdren, of the Nicholas County Sheriff’s Department, who was the investigating officer.

While Holdren was on the witness stand, the jury watched a video of Backus’ interview by law enforcement.

Backus denied the allegations, in which the accuser, an adult female, said that he sexually assaulted her, tied her hands behind her back and threatened to kill her.




Smells of the season

Alexis Bailes stirs apple butter on Saturday, Oct. 10 in Leivasy.








Retha Hinton photo





Candidates air views at forum

Several candidates for local, state and federal offices presented their views at a candidate forum on Tuesday evening, Oct. 13, at the Summersville Arena.

The “Meet the Candidate” Night was sponsored by the Summersville Area Chamber of Commerce. Questions were submitted before the event or during the forum and read by John Norman, vice-president of the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

Each candidate was given two minutes to introduce themselves, one minute to answer each question and one minute for a closing statement.

A few of the questions were irrelevant, including who candidates support for President of the United States, one’s past support for a former state senator and positions on the already decided issue of county school consolidation, which had nothing to do with the candidates qualifications for office, so those answers won’t be included in this report.





B&O Tax ordinance passes Richwood Council

Richwood Council passed the B&O Tax ordinance and voted on other matters at its regular meeting on Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020.

Council also heard committee reports.

The new ordinance involves raises to natural gas exclusions and retail categories.

It takes effect early next year.

A public hearing was conducted during the meeting regarding the ordinance.

No members of the public attended.

Three residents attended the regular meeting, which lasted an hour.

The proposed IPMC ordinance, which would update the city’s current one, was read for a second time and passed to the final stage.





Board hears Save the Children presentation

The numerous ways in which the Save the Children organization is assisting schools in Nicholas County was the primary topic of discussion at the Monday, Oct. 19, meeting of the Nicholas County board of education.

The board also approved an updated social media policy, heard an update on school construction in the county and approved the hiring of a teacher mentor.

Present for the meeting were board President Dr. Gus Penix,Vice-President Fred Amick and members Phil Berry, Libby Coffman and Roy Moose.

Save the Children Presentation

Federal Programs Director Tony Nichols and Save the Children Executive Director for West Virginia Catherine Miller came before the board to give a presentation on the board’s partnership with the organization, how it assists county schools and the accomplishments.

Nichols explained that the partnership began in 2016 when Save the Children provided some resources after the flood and then wrote and received a grant for a 21st Century After School Program for Cherry River Elementary School in Richwood.

In 2019, an Early Steps Coordinator was added for Cherry River Elementary, with the salary paid by Save the Children. The coordinator works with parents of pre-school children from birth to age 3 to get them prepared for and acquainted with school and how it works, including bringing the children into the school.

Nichols said last year Save the Children provided a reading/literacy coordinator for Cherry River Elementary with the organization paying the coordinator’s salary. A reading tutor was also provided by the organization which paid the salary.

He said the programs are virtual through Thanksgiving because of Covid-19.